Katrin Voigt

M.A., Research Associate

IPU Berlin
Stromstr. 3b - Room 1.44
10555 Berlin
Tel.: +49 30 300 117-782
E-Mail: katrin.voigt(at)ipu-berlin.de

Teaching Focus

My focus in teaching is on qualitative social research, work and organizational psychology and the work of Erich Fromm.

In the seminar ‘empirical practical training’, I give an introductory to qualitative social research concerning study design as well as qualitative methods of data inquiry and analysis. In the field of work and organizational psychology, I teach the seminar ‘conflict management in groups’. Here we look at meaning, conditions of formation and dissolution as well as prevention of conflicts. As part of the Erich Fromm Study Centre, I teach a seminar where we read primary literature by Fromm, discuss his texts and contextualize them with current theories and debates.

An interdisciplinary approach, combining a social psychological perspective with insights from sociology and cultural studies, informs my teaching. Therefore, in the different seminars we will deal with the area of tension between subject and society, as well as with power structures and hierarchies.

Research Focus

In my research, I focus on social identity and subject formation processes in the context of class, gender, ‘race’ and nation, applying different methodological approaches from qualitative research for data inquiry (e.g. narrative and problem centered interviews, group discussions, participatory observation) and analysis (e.g. grounded theory, documentary method, in-depth hermeneutical approaches).

In my ongoing dissertation, I analyze narratives of national belonging in the context of football World Cups and European Championships, focusing on symbolic boundaries and hierarchy formation processes along class, gender and ‘race’.

As a student research assistant from 2011 to 2013, I was involved in the DFG-funded research project “Identity construction in everyday life – qualitative secondary analysis in the field of gender, work and family”. Based on this project and as part of the former research group I am currently involved in the editing of a volume on “Self in everyday life – qualitative secondary analysis of identity formation processes in reciprocal relationship of normalization and self-design”. The volume will contain an essay of mine on formation and meaning of authenticity in the context of late-modern flexibility and acceleration.

Katrin Voigt

M.A., Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin

IPU Berlin
Stromstr. 3b - Raum 1.44
10555 Berlin
Tel.: +49 30 300 117-743
E-Mail: katrin.voigt(at)ipu-berlin.de

Schwerpunkte in der Lehre

Meine Schwerpunkte in der Lehre liegen im Bereich der qualitativen Sozialforschung, der Arbeits- und Organisationspsychologie und der Theorien Erich Fromms.

Eine Einführung in die qualitative Sozialforschung biete ich beispielsweise im Rahmen des empirischen Praktikums an. Hier erhalten Studierende bei der Durchführung eines eigenen Forschungsprojektes Einblicke in Studiendesign sowie qualitative Methoden der Erhebung und Auswertung. Im Bereich der Arbeits- und Organisationspsychologie unterrichte ich das Seminar Konfliktmanagement in Gruppen, das sich mit der Bedeutung, Entstehung, Auflösung und Prävention von Konflikten beschäftigt. Im Rahmen des Erich Fromm Study Centers biete ich ein Lektüreseminar an, in dem wir Primärliteratur von Erich Fromm lesen, diskutieren und mit aktuellen Theorien und gesellschaftlichen Debatten kontextualisieren.

Eine interdisziplinäre Herangehensweise, die sozialpsychologische Erkenntnisse mit soziologischen und kulturwissenschaftlichen Perspektiven kombiniert, prägt meine Lehre. So fließen Analysen des Spannungsfeldes von Subjekt und Gesellschaft sowie von Machtstrukturen und Hierarchien in die unterschiedlichen Lehrveranstaltungen mit ein

Schwerpunkte in der Forschung

Inhaltlich liegt mein Forschungsschwerpunkt auf sozialen Identitäts- und Subjektkonstruktionen im Kontext von Klasse, Gender, ‚race‘ und Nation. Methodologischer Schwerpunkt ist die qualitative Sozialforschung mit vielfältigen Erhebungsverfahren (z.B. narrative und problemzentrierte Interviews, Gruppendiskussionen, teilnehmende Beobachtung) und Methoden der Auswertung (z.B. Grounded Theory, Dokumentarische Methode, tiefenhermeneutische Verfahren wie die Kernsatzanalyse).

In meinem laufenden Dissertationsprojekt analysiere ich Narrative nationaler Zugehörigkeit im Kontext von Fußball Welt- und Europameisterschaften, mit einem Fokus auf Prozesse symbolischer Grenzziehung und Hierarchisierung entlang von Klasse, Gender und ‚race‘.

Von 2011 bis 2013 war ich als studentische Hilfskraft im DFG-geförderten Forschungsprojekt „Identitätskonstruktion im Lebenslauf – Qualitative Sekundäranalyse zu Gender, Arbeit und Familie“ an der Universität Bremen tätig. Auf diesem Forschungsprojekt basiert auch ein aktuelles Buchprojekt der damaligen Projektgruppe mit dem Arbeitstitel „Selbst im Alltag. Qualitative Sekundäranalysen zu Identitätskonstruktionen im Wechselverhältnis von Normierung und Selbstentwurf“, an dem ich beteiligt bin und das einen Beitrag von mir zur narrativen Herstellung und Bedeutung von Authentizität im Kontext spätmoderner Flexibilisierungs- und Beschleunigungstendenzen enthalten wird