IT Support

Support for the use of IPU net services

The IT Support pages provide information and instructions on setting up and using primary IT services, such as setting up the IPU email mailbox, setting up wireless access on campus, or configuring the VPN connection to access digital library resources from outside the IPU. The information offered is constantly updated and expanded.

If you have any questions, do not hesitate to get in touch.

Software

Office 365 Pro Plus - Microsoft Office
During your studies or your membership at the IPU Berlin, you can use the Microsoft Office 365 ProPlus free of charge. You are entitled to install the Office package on up to 5 computers (Windows or Mac OS X) as well as on up to 5 mobile devices (smartphones, tablets).

SPSS Statistics - Statistical Analyses
Members of the IPU Berlin can use SPSS free of charge within the scope of the license agreement.

EndNote - Reference Management Software
Under the Campus License Agreement, the current version of the EndNote literature management software is available for download by all IPU members.

Click here for the download area (registration with IPU access data required)

E-mail

Setting up the IPU e-mail address
The e-mail system of IPU Berlin offers access to e-mails via e-mail program or web browser via Outlook Web App.

Access to your e-mails via web browser
Convenient access to your e-mails via web browser is possible via the address webmail.ipu-berlin.de or directly via the Webmail link (in the MyCampus menu in the top right-hand corner of the IPU homepage).

Setup on smartphones, tablets and in e-mail programs
You can set up your IPU mailbox with any standard e-mail software. To do this, you will need the following information.

Create a new account of the type "Other" - "IMAP" and enter your username, password and the server name mail.ipu-berlin.de both for the incoming mail server as well as for the outgoing mail server. Note that these entries are not optional.

Incoming mail server

Type: IMAP
Server name: mail.ipu-berlin.de
Port: 993
Connection security: SSL/TLS

Outgoing mail server

Type: SMTP
Server: mail.ipu-berlin.com
Port: 587
Connection security: TLS

The outgoing mail server requires authentication with a user name and password (SMTP-Auth)

VPN

Access IPU’s resources from anywhere

VPN stands for Virtual Private Network, and is a technology, which allows your computer to connect to the IPU network securely and password-protected from any internet connection. This is relevant if you want to access the literature databases like PEP Web, for example.

Only connect to the VPN if you really need to and make sure you disconnect as soon as you no longer need the VPN connection. While you are connected, all your traffic is routed through IPU’s network, which will make it slower for you and for everybody else using the VPN. Do not stream video while connected to the VPN.

You can establish an SSTP, L2TP/IPsec or IKEv2 connection with EAP encryption to vpn.ipu-berlin.de. On Windows we recommend the use of SSTP, on macOS L2TP/IPsec.

Instructions for Setting Up IPU VPN Access

Windows 10 (PDF)
Mac OS 10.12 and newer (PDF)

WiFi on Campus

The wifi network eduroam enables IPU members and members of cooperating research institutions to securely connect to the Internet connection on campus. Additionally, you can use wifi access at thousands of universities and research institutions worldwide free of charge. In Germany alone, there are over 1,500 eduroam hotspots. In Berlin, for example, you can use the wifi in the libraries of state universities.
 

Please note: Your eduroam user name is your IPU e-mail address. Don't forget @ipu-berlin.de

Use the convenient eduroam Configuration Assistant Tool for setup: https://cat.eduroam.de/


Quick reference for how to use CAT on Android devices


Some systems require the root certificate "T-Telesec Global Root Class 2" for manual installation, which you can download here: T-Telesec Global Root Class 2

Copy Print Scan

For copying, printing and scanning several multifunction devices and a printer are available in Haus2 and Haus3b. You can send print jobs from the computers in Haus2, 3rd floor, in the library and from the terminal in Haus3b, ground floor. Alternatively, your can upload PDF files from your own device via "mobilePrint". However, please be sure to follow the important instructions on mobilePrint.

To retrieve documents scanned on the copier, please log on to https://print.ipu-berlin.de.

FAQ – IT-Support at IPU

Questions and Answers for IT use at IPU

Frequently Asked Questions for IT Use

You can change your password in CampusNet or via our Webmail service.


CampusNet: In the "My CampusNet" menu select "My User Account" an click on "Change Password"
 

Webmail: Log in at http://webmail.ipu-berlin.de, click the settings gear on the top right and select "Options". Navigate to "General" - "My Account" an click on "Change your password".

No, automatic forwarding of IPU e-mails to accounts external to IPU is not possible.

No, access to the e-mail program is only possible with IMAP4.

Frequently Asked Questions for eduroam

Eduroam is an acronym for education roaming and identifies an international network of educational and research institutions that allow their members to use each other’s internet services.

How is eduroam advantageous for me?

Through IPU‘s participation in eduroam, you have the possibility to use your IPU username and password to access Wifi connections at thousands of universities and research facilities worldwide free of charge. In Germany alone, there are over 1,500 eduroam hotspots. In Berlin, for example, you can use the Wifi in public university libraries with your IPU login.

You only need to set up your laptop/tablet/smartphone for eduroam once. Then, your device will automatically connect whenever it is near an eduroam hotspot.

Setup for eduroam is described at Anleitungsseiten für WLAN.

Due to the instituted authentication method (PEAP-MSCHAPv2), it is guaranteed at all times that the communication of your login details is encrypted between your device and the IPU Berlin server. If you want to connect to eduroam at another institution, an encrypted tunnel is built from your device to IPU Berlin. The IPU server verifies your login details and shares them with the partner institution, that you are allowed to use the eduroam network services from there. The partner institution does not have access to your login details at any point. The verification always takes place on the IPU Berlin server.

Your username for logging into an eduroam hotspot is your username plus @ipu-berlin.de (generally also your e-mail address). Because it is possible that there is a lisa.mueller at IPU Berlin and also at LMU München, eduroam needs to know whether the verification should take place at IPU or at LMU. The username lisa.mueller@ipu-berlin.de makes sure that IPU is asked whether Lisa Müller’s password is correct and if she can use eduroam.

IT Support

Unterstützung bei der Nutzung der IPU Netzdienste

Auf den IT-Support Seiten finden Sie Hinweise und Anleitungen zur Einrichtung und Nutzung der primären IT‐Dienste – beispielsweise wie das IPU E‐Mail‐Postfach eingerichtet wird, der WLAN‐Zugang auf dem Campus hergestellt wird oder die VPN‐Verbindung konfiguriert wird, um auch von außerhalb der IPU auf die Ressourcen der Digitalen Bibliothek zugreifen zu können. Das Informationsangebot wird ständig aktualisiert und erweitert.

Wenn Sie Fragen haben, schauen Sie bitte gern in den Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) nach; womöglich ist Ihre Frage dort ja schon beantwortet. Wenn gar nichts mehr hilft, wenden Sie sich vertrauensvoll an das Team vom IT‐Support.

Besuchen Sie die IT-Support-Sprechstunde
Montags von 9.45 bis 12.00 Uhr im InfoPoint Haus3b

Oder schreiben Sie uns an it-support(at)ipu-berlin.de

Software

Office 365 Pro Plus - Microsoft Office
Während Ihres Studiums bzw. Ihrer Mitgliedschaft an der IPU Berlin, können Sie das Microsoft Office 365 ProPlus kostenlos nutzen. Sie sind berechtigt, das Office Paket auf bis zu 5 Computern (Windows oder Mac OS X) sowie auf bis zu 5 mobilen Geräten (Smartphones, Tablets) zu installieren. Hier gelangen Sie zum Office 365 ProPlus Bestellformular


SPSS Statistics - Statistische Analysen
Angehörige der IPU Berlin können SPSS im Rahmen der Lizenzvereinbarung kostenlos nutzen. Hier gelangen Sie zum Download-Bereich (Anmeldung mit IPU-Zugangsdaten erforderlich)


EndNote - Literaturverwaltungsprogramm
Im Rahmen des Campuslizenz-Vertrags steht die aktuelle Version der Literaturverwaltungssoftware EndNote für alle Angehörigen der IPU zum Download zur Verfügung. Sie finden die Installationsdateien für EndNote für Windows und Mac OS X im IPU Intranet IT-Support Portal.

E-Mail

Einrichtung der IPU-E-Mailadresse
Das E-Mail-System der IPU Berlin bietet Zugriff auf die E-Mails per E-Mailprogramm oder per Webbrowser über Outlook Web App.

Zugang zu Ihren E-Mails per Webbrowser
Der komfortable Zugang zu Ihren E-Mails per Webbrowser gelingt über die Adresse webmail.ipu-berlin.de oder direkt über den Link Webmail (im Menü Campus rechts oben auf der IPU Homepage).

Einrichtung auf Smartphones, Tablets und in E-Mail-Programmen
Sie können die IPU E-Mailadresse mit jedem Standard-E-Mailprogramm abrufen. Dafür benötigen Sie die folgenden Angaben.

Richten Sie ein neues Konto vom Typ "Andere" - "IMAP" ein und geben Sie Ihren Benutzernamen, Ihr Passwort und den Servernamen mail.ipu-berlin.de sowohl für den Posteingangsserver als auch für den Postausgangsserver ein. Beachten Sie, dass die Eingaben nicht optional sind.

Sie können die IPU E-Mailadresse mit jedem Standard-E-Mailprogramm abrufen. Dafür benötigen Sie die folgenden Angaben:

Posteingangsserver
Typ: IMAP
Servername: mail.ipu-berlin.de
Port: 993
Verbindungssicherheit: SSL/TLS

Postausgangsserver
Typ: SMTP
Server: mail.ipu-berlin.de
Port: 587
Verbindungssicherheit: TLS
Der Postausgangsserver erfordert eine Authentifizierung mit Benutzername und Kennwort

VPN

Von überall auf die IPU-Ressourcen zugreifen

VPN steht für Virtual Private Network und ist eine Technik, die es erlaubt, Ihren Computer über eine beliebige Internetverbindung geschützt und verschlüsselt mit dem Netz der IPU zu verbinden. Dies ist dann relevant, wenn Sie beispielsweise auf Literaturdatenbanken wie PEP Web zugreifen möchten.

Anleitungen zur Einrichtung des VPN-Zugangs zur IPU

Windows Vista und Windows 7 (PDF)
Windows 8.1 (PDF)
Windows 10 (PDF)
Mac OS X (PDF)

WLAN auf dem Campus der IPU Berlin

Drahtlos auf dem IPU-Campus ins Netz
In allen Räumen der IPU ist der Zugang zum Internet per Wireless LAN möglich.

eduroam
Das Funknetz eduroam ermöglicht IPU-Mitgliedern und Mitgliedern kooperierender Forschungseinrichtungen die sichere Nutzung der Internetanbindung an der IPU Berlin. Durch die Teilnahme der IPU Berlin an eduroam haben Sie mit Ihrem IPU-Benutzernamen und IPU-Kennwort die Möglichkeit an weltweit tausenden Universitäten und Forschungseinrichtungen kostenlos deren WLAN-Zugang zu nutzen. Allein in Deutschland gibt es über 1.500 eduroam Hotspots. In Berlin können Sie somit bspw. In den Bibliotheken der staatlichen Hochschulen das WLAN mit Ihren IPU-Zugangsdaten nutzen.


Bitte beachten Sie: Ihr eduroam-Benutzername ist Ihre IPU-E-Mailadresse. Vergessen Sie nicht das @ipu-berlin.de

Nutzen Sie das komfortable eduroam Configuration Assistant Tool zur Einrichtung: https://cat.eduroam.de/


Kurzanleitung für Android-Geräte


Für einige Systeme benötigen Sie bei der manuellen Installation das Root-Zertifikat „T-Telesec Global Root Class 2“, das Sie hier herunterladen können: T-Telesec Global Root Class 2

Kopieren Drucken Scannen

Zum Kopieren, Drucken und Scannen stehen Ihnen in Haus2 und Haus3b mehrere Multifunktionsgeräte und ein Drucker zur Verfügung. Druckaufträge können Sie an den PCs in Haus2, 3. OG, in der Bibliothek und am Terminal Haus3b EG abschicken oder von Ihrem eigenen Gerät per "mobilePrint" hochladen. Beachten Sie jedoch unbedingt die Hinweise zum mobilePrint.

Um am Kopierer eingescannte Dokumente abzurufen, loggen Sie sich bitte auf https://print.ipu-berlin.de ein.

FAQ – IT-Support der IPU

Fragen und Antworten zur IT-Nutzung an der IPU

Häufig gestellte Fragen zu eduroam

eduroam ist ein Akronym für education roaming und bezeichnet einen internationalen Verbund von Bildungs- und Forschungseinrichtungen, die ihren Angehörigen gegenseitig die Nutzung von Internetdiensten ermöglichen.

Durch die Teilnahme der IPU Berlin an eduroam haben Sie mit Ihrem IPU-Benutzernamen und IPU-Kennwort die Möglichkeit an weltweit tausenden Universitäten und Forschungseinrichtungen kostenlos deren WLAN-Zugang zu nutzen. Allein in Deutschland gibt es über 1.500 eduroam Hotspots. In Berlin können Sie somit bspw. in den Bibliotheken der staatlichen Hochschulen das WLAN mit Ihren IPU-Zugangsdaten nutzen.

Sie brauchen Ihr Notebook/Tablet/Smartphone nur einmalig für eduroam einzurichten. Wenn Ihr Gerät sich dann in der Nähe eines eduroam Hotspots befindet, wird es sich automatisch verbinden.

Die Einrichtung von eduroam ist auf auf den Anleitungsseiten für WLAN beschrieben.

Aufgrund der eingesetzten Authentifizierungsmethode (PEAP-MSCHAPv2) ist zu jeder Zeit gewährleistet, dass Ihre Zugangsdaten ausschließlich verschlüsselt zwischen Ihrem Gerät und dem Server der IPU Berlin übertragen werden. Wenn Sie sich an einer anderen Hochschule mit eduroam verbinden möchten, wird ein verschlüsselter Tunnel von Ihrem Gerät zur IPU Berlin aufgebaut. Der Server der IPU überprüft Ihre Zugangsdaten und teilt der Partnerhochschule mit, dass Sie berechtigt sind, im Rahmen von eduroam dort die Netzdienste zu nutzen. Der Partnerhochschule sind Ihre Zugangsdaten zu keinem Zeitpunkt bekannt. Die Überprüfung findet immer auf dem Server der IPU Berlin statt.

Nach der Authentifizierung ist das Sicherheitsniveau für die Nutzung des WLANs von der Partnerhochschule vorgegeben.

Der Benutzername für die Anmeldung am eduroam Hotspot ist Ihr Benutzername ergänzt um @ipu-berlin.de (im Normalfall also Ihre E-Mailadresse). Da es sein kann, dass es sowohl an der IPU Berlin als auch an der LMU München eine lisa.mueller gibt, muss eduroam wissen, ob die Authentifizierung an der IPU oder an der LMU stattfinden muss. Der Benutzername lisa.mueller@ipu-berlin.de sorgt somit dafür, dass an der IPU nachgefragt wird, ob Lisa Müllers Passwort stimmt und sie eduroam nutzen kann.

Häufig gestellte Fragen zur IT-Nutzung

Nein, eine automatische Weiterleitung der IPU-E-Mails an Adressen außerhalb der IPU ist nicht möglich.

Nein, der Zugriff per E-Mailprogramm ist nur per IMAP4 möglich.