Prof. Dr. Simone Salzer

Clinical Psychology and Psychoanalysis

IPU Berlin
Stromstr. 3b - Room 1.11
10555 Berlin
Tel.: +49 30 300 117-717
E-Mail: simone.salzer(at)ipu-berlin.de

Teaching Focus

I teach the essentials of the field of clinical psychology and psychotherapy with a focus on the psychodynamic perspective of mental disorders. Understanding, describing, and clarifying the development and course of mental disorders are the core tasks of clinical psychology. As such, it is of central importance to me to understand the development of psychic symptoms as attempts at finding creative solutions, which are fed by individual intrapsychic and interpersonal dynamics. This view is expanded upon in classes that deal with psychodynamic counseling techniques, for example. An additional focus of my teaching is comprised of methods and findings of empirical psychotherapy research and their accompanying critical reflections.

Research Focus

In addition to posing clinical-psychological questions, my research focuses particularly on examining the efficiency of psychodynamic therapies during childhood, youth, and adulthood. In recent years, I have focused on randomized control trials for psychotherapy, during which the efficiency of a psychodynamic treatment concept is often compared with that of a cognitive behavioral therapy. In the context of evidence-based medicine, these studies are important for the scientific foundation of psychoanalytically based therapies, but they are also essential in terms of their recognition under social legislation.

This also includes, for example, the descriptions of psychodynamic treatment concepts as well as considerations of how their treatment integrity, i.e. appropriate implementation, can be sensibly reviewed in such studies. One essential and particularly exciting question of psychotherapy research is: What is it that allows psychotherapies and therapists to be helpful for patients?

Prof. Dr. Simone Salzer

Klinische Psychologie und Psychoanalyse

IPU Berlin
Stromstr. 3b - Raum 1.11
10555 Berlin
Tel.: +49 30 300 117-717
E-Mail: simone.salzer(at)ipu-berlin.de

Schwerpunkte in der Lehre

In der Lehre vermittle ich zentrale Inhalte des Faches Klinische Psychologie und Psychotherapie mit dem Schwerpunkt einer psychodynamischen Perspektivierung psychischer Störungen. Psychische Störungen zu erfassen, zu beschreiben und deren Entstehung und Aufrechterhaltung zu erklären, sind Kernaufgaben der Klinischen Psychologie. Dabei erscheint mir besonders bedeutsam, die Entwicklung psychischer Symptome immer auch als kreative Lösungsversuche zu verstehen, die sich aus individuellen intrapsychischen und interpersonellen Dynamiken speisen. Diese Betrachtung wird beispielsweise in Lehrveranstaltungen zur psychodynamischen Gesprächsführung vertieft. Einen weiteren Schwerpunkt meiner Lehre bilden Methoden und Befunde der empirischen Psychotherapieforschung und deren kritische Reflexion.

Schwerpunkte in der Forschung

Meine Forschungsschwerpunkte bilden neben klinisch-psychologischen Fragestellungen insbesondere die empirische Überprüfung der Wirksamkeit psychodynamischer Therapien im Kindes-, Jugend- und Erwachsenenalter. Hier habe ich mich in den vergangenen Jahren auf randomisierte kontrollierte Psychotherapiestudien fokussiert, in denen häufig die Wirksamkeit eines psychodynamischen Behandlungskonzepts mit der einer kognitiv-behavioralen Therapie verglichen wird. Diese Studien sind im Kontext der Evidenzbasierten Medizin für die wissenschaftliche Fundierung psychoanalytisch begründeter Therapien wichtig, aber auch hinsichtlich ihrer sozialrechtlichen Anerkennung notwendig.

Damit in Zusammenhang steht beispielsweise auch die Beschreibung von psychodynamischen Behandlungskonzepten sowie Überlegungen dazu, wie deren Behandlungsintegrität, also ihre angemessene Umsetzung, in solchen Studien sinnvoll überprüft werden kann. Eine übergeordnete und besonders spannende Kernfrage der Psychotherapieforschung lautet schließlich: Was lässt Psychotherapien und Therapeut_innen für Patient_innen hilfreich sein?