Prof. Dr. Christine Kirchhoff

Theoretical Psychoanalysis, Subject and Cultural Theory

IPU Berlin
Stromstr. 3b - Room 1.08
10555 Berlin
Tel.: +49 30 300 117-724
E-Mail: christine.kirchhoff(at)ipu-berlin.de

Teaching Focus

In the fulltime Master Psychology course, I teach Study Area I "Theoretical Psychoanalysis, Subject and Culture Theory". This consists of modules 1 and 8 on epistemology and on the history of the science of psychoanalysis, as well as on psychoanalysis in the humanities and cultural studies field. Furthermore, I also lecture in the Master Psychoanalytical Cultural Studies course, such as on the principles of psychoanalysis or mass psychology/social theory.

In addition to an overview of the history of psychoanalysis – in the context of establishing psychology as a science – I am also interested in relating the differing psychoanalytical intellectual approaches to each other and to show how and from which issues they have developed, where they touch upon each other and how they differ from each other.

Research Focus

My research work focuses on: Psychoanalytical culture and subject theory, questions related to metapsychology, psychoanalysis and critical theory, the function of (psychoanalytical) diagnoses of the times. In the qualitative research field, I recently conducted an interview study on the subject of "Procrastination. Psychoanalysis and Social Context" and I am also working in the field of psychoanalytical culture analysis.

Prof. Dr. Christine Kirchhoff

Theoretische Psychoanalyse, Subjekt- und Kulturtheorie

IPU Berlin
Stromstr. 3b - Raum 1.08
10555 Berlin
Tel.: +49 30 300 117-724
E-Mail: christine.kirchhoff(at)ipu-berlin.de

Schwerpunkte in der Lehre

Ich lehre vor allem im Studienbereich I „Theoretische Psychoanalyse, Subjekt- und Kulturtheorie“ im Master-Vollzeit Psychologie. Das sind die Module 1 und 8 zur Erkenntnistheorie und Wissenschaftsgeschichte der Psychoanalyse und zur Psychoanalyse in den Geistes- und Kulturwissenschaften. Außerdem lehre ich im Master Psychoanalytische Kulturwissenschaften, z.B. Grundlagen der Psychoanalyse oder Massenpsychologie/Gesellschaftstheorie.

Neben einem Überblick über die Geschichte der Psychoanalyse – im Kontext der Etablierung der Psychologie als Wissenschaft – geht es mir auch darum, die unterschiedlichen psychoanalytischen Denkperspektiven aufeinander zu beziehen und zu zeigen, wie und aus welchen Problemstellungen sie sich entwickelt haben, wo sie sich berühren und wie sie sich unterscheiden.

Schwerpunkte in der Forschung

Meine Forschungsschwerpunkte sind: Psychoanalytische Kultur- und Subjekttheorie, Fragen der Metapsychologie, Psychoanalyse und Kritische Theorie, Funktion (psychoanalytischer) Zeitdiagnosen. Im Bereich der qualitativen Forschung habe ich zuletzt eine Interviewstudie zum Thema „Prokrastination. Psychoanalyse und gesellschaftlicher Kontext“ durchgeführt. Zudem arbeite ich im Bereich psychoanalytischer Kulturanalyse unter dem Titel „Unbehagen und kein Ende“.