Dr. Christian Valt

Research Associate

IPU Berlin
Stromstr. 3b - Room 0.32
10555 Berlin
Tel.: +49 30 300 117-746
E-Mail: christian.valt(at)ipu-berlin.de

Teaching Focus

My expertise in teaching covers general psychology, cognitive sciences, and cognitive neuroscience, with a focus on the electrophysiological underpinnings of memory and performance monitoring. My principal aim as a lecturer is inspiring interest and a passion for neuroscience and the study of the brain.

In my lectures, students will learn the strengths and weaknesses of various methods and techniques for the scientific study of the human brain, in the healthy and the clinical population. Students will also learn the essential skills for critically read scientific papers regarding cognitive psychology, cognitive neuroscience, and neuropsychology, along with the primary skills for the study of psychopathologies. According to my experiences as a student and a lecturer, it is critical that, during their studies, students are actively involved in the research practice, to extend the knowledge they acquired by reading books. Therefore, my students can participate, under my supervision, in the activity of the EEG-lab of the IPU.

Researching in the field of error processing has thought me the importance of failures for the learning process and personal development. Therefore, I am aware of the importance of being supportive, particularly in the presence of difficulties.

Research Focus

My research expertise goes from implicit memory to emotion processing and performance monitoring. I am particularly interested in the electrophysiological underpinnings of error processing, the social influences for the personal evaluation and the abnormal processing of internal and external signals in patients who have a psychological disorder, before and after therapy.

I am/was involved in the following projects:
- Performance monitoring in social interactions: the dynamics of internal and external signal processing
- The interaction between internal and external signal processing in depression: an ERP study

Dr. Christian Valt

Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

IPU Berlin
Stromstr. 3b - Raum 0.32
10555 Berlin
Tel.: +49 30 300 117-746
E-Mail: christian.valt(at)ipu-berlin.de

Schwerpunkte in der Lehre

Meine Schwerpunkte in der Lehre sind allgemeine Psychologie, kognitive Psychologie und kognitive Neurowissenschaften mit gleichzeitigem Fokus auf elektrophysiologische Grundlagen von Gedächtnis und Leistungsüberwachung. Ich sehe es als meine Aufgabe, den Studenten die Leidenschaft und Begeisterung für die Neurowissenschaften und Gehirnforschung zu vermitteln. In meinem Unterricht erlernen Studenten die Stärken und Schwächen verschiedener Methoden und Techniken der Anwendung von Gehirnforschung bei gesunden und klinisch relevanten Populationen.

Sie erlernen sowohl essentielle Fähigkeiten für die kritische Betrachtung wissenschaftlicher Artikel im Bereich der kognitiven Psychologie, kognitiven Neurowissenschaften und Neuropsychologie, als auch eine effektive Herangehensweise für die experimentelle Erforschung klinisch signifikanter Phänomene. Mir ist es wichtig, dass Studenten in meinem Unterricht umfassende Erfahrung im Bereich der experimentellen Forschung sammeln und ihr bereits vorhandenes Wissen erweitern. So haben sie bei mir auch die Möglichkeit, unter enger Betreuung in dem EEG – Labor der IPU ihr Wissen direkt praktisch anzuwenden.

Forscher im Bereich der Fehlerverarbeitung zu sein hat mir gezeigt, dass Misserfolge essentiell sind für gelingenden Lernprozess und die persönliche Entwicklung. Der für mich wichtigste Aspekt ist, dass Lehre unterstützend sein soll, besonders in der Begegnung mit Schwierigkeiten.

Schwerpunkte in der Forschung

Meine Schwerpunkte in der Forschung liegen auf dem impliziten Gedächtnis, der Verarbeitung von Emotionen, Leistungsüberwachung. Hierbei interessiere ich mich besonders für elektrophysiologische Grundlagen der Verarbeitung von Fehlleistungen, den Einfluss von sozialen Kontexten auf die subjektive Bewertung und die abnormale Prozessierung interner und externer Signale, vor und nach einer Therapie.

Ich war/bin in den nachfolgenden Projekten beschäftigt:
- Handlungsüberwachung in sozialen Interaktionen: Dynamik interner und externer Signalverarbeitung
- Interaktion zwischen interner und externer Signalverarbeitung bei Patienten mit Depression: Studie mit ereigniskorrelierten Potentialen