Prof. Dr. Annette M. Klein

Developmental Psychology

IPU Berlin
Stromstr. 3b - Room 1.14
10555 Berlin
Tel.: +49 30 300 117-756
E-Mail: annette.klein(at)ipu-berlin.de

Teaching Focus

In the Bachelor's programme, I teach developmental psychology, a very exciting sub-discipline of psychology, which deals with the development of human beings throughout their entire life span, from birth to old age. Typical developmental tasks, the emergence and change of attachments and relationships as well as developments in thinking, learning, memory, language etc. are examined. In addition to typical, normative changes in the life course, disturbances in development and their influencing factors are also discussed.

In the lectures, the basic concepts, theories, methods and research strategies of developmental psychology are developed. In the seminar these contents are deepened in relation to early and middle childhood. The focus is on development processes that can be well observed in everyday life (e.g. early communication of the baby, parent-child interaction, early helping behaviour) and that are relevant for the family (e.g. transition to kindergarten, influences on attachment processes).

In the Master Psychology I teach development theories and developmental psychopathology. The lecture deals with various important developmental psychological theories, with a focus on classical and modern psychoanalytical theories. The seminar on developmental psychopathology deals in depth with problems and disorders that can occur in childhood and adolescence, such as anxieties, eating disorders, depression and their treatment approaches.

Research Focus

Development of internalising symptoms and disorders from preschool to school age: relation to psycho-social (e.g. social skills, parental psychopathology) and biological risk factors (e.g. stress reactivity, genetics)

 

Parental emotion understanding, parent-child interaction (emotional availability, attachment) its influence of social skills of children; influences of parental mentalizing capacity (reflective functioning)

 

Association of social-cognitive abilities (e.g. understanding of emotions, theory-of-mind, mentalization) with internalizing symptoms and disorders

 

Evaluation of Psychoanalytic Short-Term Therapy (PaKT) for children with anxiety disorders and depression; Influencing factors and processes

 

Development under risk conditions; psychological symptoms and disorders after experience of abuse / neglect

 

Mental health and prosocial behaviour from pre-school to primary school age: cross-sectional and longitudinal analysis of a population sample

Prof. Dr. Annette M. Klein

Entwicklungspsychologie

IPU Berlin
Stromstr. 3b - Raum 1.14
10555 Berlin
Tel.: +49 30 300 117-756
E-Mail: annette.klein(at)ipu-berlin.de

Schwerpunkte in der Lehre

In der Lehre im Bachelor vertrete ich die Entwicklungspsychologie, eine sehr spannende Teildisziplin der Psychologie, sich mit der Entwicklung des Menschen über die gesamte Lebensspanne, also von der Geburt bis zum hohen Lebensalter beschäftigt. Dabei werden typische Entwicklungsaufgaben, die Entstehung und Veränderung von Bindungen und Beziehungen sowie Entwicklungen im Denken, Lernen, Gedächtnis, Sprache etc. beleuchtet. Neben typischen, normativen, Veränderungen im Lebenslauf werden auch Störungen in der Entwicklung und deren Einflussfaktoren thematisiert.

Im Rahmen der Vorlesungen werden die grundlegenden Konzepte, Theorien, Methoden und Forschungsstrategien der allgemeinen Entwicklungspsychologie erarbeitet. Im Seminar werden diese Inhalte bezogen auf die frühe und mittlere Kindheit vertieft. Dabei liegt der Fokus auf Entwicklungsprozessen, die im Alltag kleiner Kinder beobachtet werden können (z.B. frühe Kommunikation des Babys, Eltern-Kind-Interaktion, frühes Hilfeverhalten) bzw. für die Familie relevant sind (z.B. Übergang in den Kindergarten, Einflüsse auf Bindungsprozesse).

Im Master Psychologie lehre ich u.a. zu Entwicklungstheorien und zur Entwicklungspsychopathologie. In der Vorlesung werden verschiedenste bedeutende entwicklungspsychologische Theorien behandelt, mit einem Fokus auf klassische und moderne psychoanalytische Theorien. Im Seminar  Entwicklungspsychopathologie erfolgt die vertiefte Auseinandersetzung mit Problemen und Störungen, die im Kindes- und Jugendalter auftreten können, wie z.B. Ängste, Essstörungen oder Depression sowie Behandlungsansätze.

Schwerpunkte in der Forschung

Internalisierende Symptome und Störungen in der Entwicklung vom Vorschul- zum Grundschulalter: Zusammenhang zu psycho-sozialen (z.B. soziale Kompetenzen, elterliche Psychopathologie) und biologischen Risikofaktoren (z.B. Stressreaktivität, Genetik)

Elterliches Emotionsverständnis, Eltern-Kind-Interaktion (Emotional Availability, Bindung) und kindliche Sozialkompetenzen in der Entwicklung; Einflüsse elterlicher Mentalisierungsfähigkeit (reflexiver Kompetenz)

Zusammenhang von sozial-kognitiven Fähigkeiten (z.B. Emotionsverständnis, Theory-of-Mind, Mentalisierung) mit internalisierenden Symptomen und Störungen

Evaluation der Psychoanalytischen Kurzzeittherapie (PaKT) für Kinder mit Angststörungen und Depression; Einflussfaktoren und Prozesse

Entwicklung unter Risikobedingenen; Psychische Symptome und Störungen nach Erfahrung von Misshandlung/ Vernachlässigung

Psychische Gesundheit und prosoziales Verhalten im Vorschulalter bis Grundschulalter: Untersuchung einer Bevölkerungsstichprobe im Querschnitt und Längsschnitt