Prof. Dr. Insa Härtel

Cultural Studies

IPU Berlin
Stromstr. 3b - Room 0.29
10555 Berlin
Tel.: +49 30 300 117-727
E-Mail: insa.haertel(at)ipu-berlin.de

Teaching Focus

The IPU's cultural studies program focuses the interfaces and entanglements between culture and psychoanalysis. Cultural questions as part of psychoanalytical approaches, as they can already be found in Freud’s work, are a main topic here; also, psychoanalytical approaches as part of cultural studies. Such perspectives enable insights into cultural conflicts, to name but one example. Likewise, psychoanalytical assumptions (e.g. about sexual difference) can be examined by cultural studies. In the course of studies, discussions take place with regard to different subject areas: Cultural productions and transformations come into view as well as everyday practices, knowledge cultures, social relations....

Since I come from both the cultural studies and the psychoanalytical side, my approach is interdisciplinary in itself, which means it contains an encroachment/boundary crossing, too (Übergriff – an interesting German term that has occupied me for quite some time in its manifold connotations). In teaching, it is important for me to show how cultural and psychoanalytical theory can provide thinking spaces and thus make what is taken for granted, rotate. This happens again and again during studies, not only with the students. In this way, theoretical approaches in both psychoanalysis and culture can function as a relevant cultural "corrective" - and form their own practice.

I offer introductory and in-depth courses, combining different thematic approaches as well as detailed discussions of one concept. Often, texts are in use, thematically linked also films. From time to time, I invite guests or co-teach with lecturers from other universities, and sometimes we change the location for visits of art exhibitions or the like. All in all, I'm not only interested in conveying specialist content, but also in trying out forms of presentation with the students or reflecting on the teaching and learning situation itself.

Research Focus

My current research is dedicated to promises of salvation as they appear in various areas of western (everyday) culture. In light of their historical changeability such promises are understood as socially powerful productions. What is currently traded as a promise of salvation, which cultural dynamics are thereby effective? The focus is on the socially relevant hopes and fears being involved. What, for example, is regarded as threatening or disastrous in these contexts? Currently, I am working on two subprojects in which I will examine the following materials regarding the cultural ambivalences or conflicts being involved.

Ongoing Projects
"Messie" With Method: Domestic Waste in TV Format
Breast, Cancer, Section: Medial Staging of of Angelina Jolie’s Prophylactic Mastectomy

Completed Projects
Focused and Reversed. Gerhard Richter "Betty" (1977)
"Assaults" and "Objects": Images of and Discourse on Child-Adolescent Sexuality

Prof. Dr. Insa Härtel

Kulturwissenschaften

IPU Berlin
Stromstr. 3b - Raum 0.29
10555 Berlin
Tel.: +49 30 300 117-727
E-Mail: insa.haertel(at)ipu-berlin.de

Schwerpunkte in der Lehre

Der kulturwissenschaftliche Studiengang an der IPU hat Schnittstellen und Verschränkungen von Kultur und Psychoanalyse auf dem Programm. Thema sind kulturelle Fragestellungen als Teil psychoanalytischer Ansätze, wie sie schon bei Freud zu finden sind. Ebenso psychoanalytische Zugangsweisen als ein Teil der Kulturwissenschaften. Dies ermöglicht z. B. Einsichten in kulturelle Konflikte. Auch lassen sich psychoanalytische Annahmen (etwa zur Geschlechterdifferenz) selbst kulturwissenschaftlich „beackern“. Die Auseinandersetzung findet anhand verschiedener Gegenstandsfeldern statt: Kulturelle Produktionen und Transformationen geraten ebenso in den Blick wie Alltagswelten, Wissenskulturen, soziale Beziehungen….

Da ich fachlich sowohl von der kulturwissenschaftlichen wie auch von der psychoanalytischen Seite her komme, ist mein Zugang in sich fächerübergreifend und das heißt auch: Er enthält einen Über-Griff (ein Begriff, der mich in seinen vielfältigen Konnotationen schon länger beschäftigt). In meiner Lehre ist es mir wichtig zu zeigen, wie kulturwissenschaftliche und psychoanalytische Theoriebildung Denk-Räume bereitstellt und das, was man für selbstverständlich hält, ins Rotieren bringen kann. Dies geschieht im Studium immer wieder, nicht nur bei den Studierenden. Auf diese Weise können kulturwissenschaftlich-psychoanalytische Ansätze auch als belangreiches kulturelles "Korrektiv" fungieren – und eine eigene Praxis bilden.

Ich biete einführende und vertiefende Veranstaltungen an, dabei thematische Bündelungen verschiedener Ansätze ebenso wie detaillierte Auseinandersetzungen mit einem Konzept. Zum Einsatz kommen vielfach Texte, thematisch angebunden aber auch Filme; ich lade Gäste ein, unterrichte manchmal im Co-Teaching mit Dozent/innen anderer Hochschulen oder plane „Ortswechsel“ z.B. in Ausstellungen. Insgesamt geht mir nicht nur darum, fachliche Inhalte zu vermitteln, sondern auch um eine Erprobung von Präsentationsformen mit den Studierenden oder eine Reflexion der Lehr- und Lernsituation selbst.

 

Schwerpunkte in der Forschung

Meine derzeitige Forschung hat sich aktuelle Heilsversprechen vorgenommen. Diese werden vor dem Hintergrund ihrer historischen Wandelbarkeit als gesellschaftlich wirkmächtige Inszenierungen verstanden. Was wird gegenwärtig als Heilsversprechen gehandelt, welche kulturellen Dynamiken werden dabei wirksam? Die Frage richtet sich darauf, wie solche Versprechen gesellschaftlich relevante Hoffnungen und Befürchtungen involvieren und was dabei z. B. als bedrohlich-unheilvoll gilt. Derzeit bearbeite ich zwei Teilprojekte, in denen ich anhand der jeweiligen Materialien untersuche, auf welche Weise sich kulturelle Ambivalenzen oder Konflikte geltend machen.

Aktuelle Projekte
„Messie“ mit Methode: Wohnmüll im TV-Format
Brust-Krebs-Schnitt: Mediale Inszenierungen der prophylaktischen Mastektomie Angelina Jolies (seit 2014)

Abgeschlossene Projekte
Scharf gestellt und umgedreht. Gerhard Richter „Betty“ (1977)
„Übergriffe“ und „Objekte“: Bilder und Diskurse kindlich-jugendlicher Sexualität