Prof. Dr. Benigna Gerisch

Clinical Psychology, Psychoanalysis,
Intervention and Psychodynamic Counselling
IPU Berlin
Stromstr. 3b - Room 1.17
10555 Berlin
Tel.: +49 30 300 117-713
E-Mail: benigna.gerisch(at)ipu-berlin.de

Teaching Focus

I teach two modules: Interventions and Psychodynamic Counselling. The module of Interventions deals with developing basic skills and gaining elementary knowledge in psychoanalytic and clinical technique in general (e.g. theoretic terminology, frame, setting, analysis of transference and countertransference, etc.). Included are also non-analytic psychotherapeutic methods of intervention. By elaborating and reflecting similarities and differences the aim is to convey a multifaceted and deeper insight into various schools of current psychoanalytic, psychodynamic and other psychotherapeutic specifications. A focus is set on practical examples of specific techniques of interventions. Also, certain parameters are illustrated and discussed by studying comprehensive case material. Role play exercises and audiovisual material help to demonstrate the peculiarities of each and every topic.

The module of Psychodynamic Counselling deals with fundamental knowledge in the intersection of social modernization and change processes, as well as the impact of such processes on the working life and personal lifestyles. In addition, the corresponding consequences for counselling are discussed. Current concepts and intervention methods of psychodynamic counselling are explored, including the basic psychoanalytic knowledge of interactive and relational processes, particularly in regard to private (e.g. single and family treatment) and occupational settings (e.g. psychodynamic counselling in organizations, psychodynamic coaching).

Moreover, my special interest emphasizes the intersection of psyche and culture as well as the insightful use of psychoanalysis as an interpretative way to understand phenomena beyond the couch. This approach has established transdisciplinary research collaborations and projects.

Research Focus

My primary research interests span from psychodynamics of suicidal tendencies, suicidality and gender differences, psychoanalytic body-concepts to self-destructive body-practices. The research on gender differences thrives to deepen the psychodynamic theories of suicidality and its psychoanalytic-psychodynamic treatment. Furthermore, my cultural research focusses the psychodynamic understanding of suicidal tendencies in film, theater, and literature.

Another research interest of mine covers the intersection of culture and psyche. In two transdisciplinary research projects so far (psychodynamic, sociological and social-psychological) we analyze interrelations between different social and individual levels. The synthesis of various approaches (quantitative and multiple qualitative approaches) allows us to understand tensions of normative standards and changes in social practices up to potentials for exhaustion and pathologies, including psychic dimensions. We focus on the impact that social change processes produce for individuals, particularly in relation to psychic dispositions and individual processes of appropriation and translation and the specific practices to which they are connected (e.g. practices of self-optimization and quantification). Building on this perspective which brings the micro and macro levels together, we generate new conceptual and methodological approaches for the analyses of the interaction of social, individual, cultural, and psychic processes.

 

Selected Research Projects

Since 2017
“The Quantified Life. - Productive and Counterproductive Consequences of Quantification in the Digitally Optimising Society.” Project Heads of the transdisciplinary research project are, Professor Dr. Vera King (spokesperson; Goethe Uni. & SFI Frankfurt am Main), Professor Dr. Benigna Gerisch (IPU Berlin) and Professor Dr. Hartmut Rosa (Uni. Jena and Max Weber Centre Erfurt). The project is funded by the VolkswagenStiftung in the “Key Issues for Research and Society” (“Schlüsselthemen in Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft”) funding initiative.

From 2013 – 2018
“Aporias of Perfection in Accelerated Societies. - Current Cultural Transformation of Self Images, Relationship Structures and Body Practices.” Project Heads: Prof. Dr. Vera King, Prof. Dr. Benigna Gerisch, Prof. Dr. Hartmut Rosa. A transdisciplinary project funded by the VolkswagenStiftung in association with the initiative “Schlüsselthemen in Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft” [“Key Issues for Research and Society”]. Funding period: 01.12.2012–31.03.2018

From 1992 – 1999
The Psychoanalytic Understanding of Suicidality among Women, with special regard to the Constitutional Processes of Identity Development of Women: Single Case Results based on 20 Psychoanalytically Oriented Short-Term Treatments, Center for Therapy and Studies of Suicide Behavior at the University Hospital Hamburg-Eppendorf (UKE).

From 1993 – 1996
Suicidality among Women. Myth and Reality – A Critical Analysis, Center for Therapy and Studies of Suicide Behavior at the University Hospital Hamburg-Eppendorf (UKE).

Prof. Dr. Benigna Gerisch

Klinische Psychologie, Psychoanalyse, Intervention und Psychodynamische Beratung

IPU Berlin
Stromstr. 3b - Raum 1.17
10555 Berlin
Tel.: +49 30 300 117-713
E-Mail: benigna.gerisch(at)ipu-berlin.de

Schwerpunkte in der Lehre

In der Lehre vertrete ich zum einen das Interventionsmodul und zum anderen die Psychodynamische Beratung. Das Interventionsmodul vermittelt Basiskompetenzen und Grundkenntnisse von psychoanalytischen Kernbegriffen zu Theorie und Behandlungstechnik (z.B. Rahmen, Setting, Übertragungs- und Gegenübertragungsanalyse etc.) sowie nicht-analytischer psychotherapeutischer Interventionsmethoden. Damit wird ein differenzierter Einblick in den Schulenpluralismus der gegenwärtigen psychoanalytischen und psychodynamischen sowie anderer Psychotherapieformen gegeben und deren Gemeinsamkeiten und Unterschiede reflektierend erarbeitet. Ein wesentlicher Schwerpunkt liegt auf der anwendungsorientierten Exemplifizierung der schulenspezifischen Interventionstechniken und Wirkfaktoren anhand von ausführlichen Kasuistiken, die u.a. in Rollenspielen oder durch Videomaterial in ihrer Komplexität erlebbar gemacht werden.

Im Modul Psychodynamische Beratung geht es um die Vermittlung von Grundlagenwissen über den wechselseitigen Zusammenhang von gesellschaftlichen Modernisierungs- und Wandlungsprozessen und deren Auswirkungen auf die Arbeitswelt und individuelle Lebensführung sowie dem korrespondierenden Beratungsbedarf. Aktuelle Konzepte und Interventionsmethoden der psychodynamischen Beratung einschließlich psychoanalytischen Basiswissens von Interaktions- und Beziehungsprozessen im lebensweltlichen (z. B. der Einzelfall‐ und Familienhilfe) und im arbeitsweltlichen Beratungssetting (z.B. psychodynamische Organisationsberatung, psychodynamisches Coaching) werden erarbeitet.

Darüber hinaus gilt mein besonderes Interesse dem Scharnier von Psyche und Kultur sowie der produktiven Indienstnahme der Psychoanalyse als Interpretations- und Deutungsmethodik im außerklinischen Kontext, die u.a. Eingang gefunden hat in der Entwicklung transdisziplinärer Forschungskooperationen und -projekte.

Schwerpunkte in der Forschung

Zum einen liegt der Schwerpunkt meiner Forschung in der Psychodynamik von Suizidalität, der Suizidalität und Geschlechterdifferenz, psychoanalytischen Körperkonzepten sowie autodestruktiven Körperpraktiken. Die geschlechterdifferentiellen Untersuchungen dienen stets auch der Weiterentwicklung der psychodynamischen Theorie zur Suizidalität und ihrer psychoanalytisch-psychotherapeutischen Behandlung. Darüber hinaus fokussiert meine kulturanalytische Forschung das psychodynamische Verständnis von Suizidalität im Film, Theater und in der Belletristik.

Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt bewegt sich an der Schnittstelle von Kultur und Psyche. In bisher zwei transdisziplinären (psychodynamischen, soziologischen und sozialpsychologischen) Forschungsprojekten untersuchen wir mittels einer spezifischen Methodentriangulation (quantitative und verschiedene qualitative Zugänge) die Zusammenhänge zwischen verschiedenen Ebenen des Sozialen  sowie die Spannung von Normierungen und Praxisveränderungen bis hin zu Überforderungs- und Pathologiepotenzialen, auch in ihren psychischen Dimensionen. Wir analysieren die Auswirkungen von gesellschaftlichen Wandlungsprozessen auf die Individuen in Bezug zu ihren psychischen Dispositionen und individuellen Aneignungs- und Übersetzungsprozessen sowie damit verknüpfter spezifischer Praktiken (z.B. Selbstoptimierungs- und Quantifizierungspraktiken). Auf Basis dieser Makro-Mikro-Perspektive entwickeln wir neue konzeptuelle und methodologische Zugänge zur Analyse der Vermittlungen von Gesellschaft und Individuum, Kultur und Psyche.
 

Ausgewählte Forschungsprojekte

Seit 2017
Das vermessene Leben – Produktive und kontraproduktive Folgen der Quantifizierung in der digital optimierenden Gesellschaft, zusammen mit Vera King (Sigmund-Freud-Institut und Goethe-Universität Frankfurt a.M.) und Hartmut Rosa (Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena und Max-Weber-Kolleg)

2013 – 2018
Aporien der Perfektionierung in der beschleunigten Moderne: Gegenwärtiger kultureller Wandel von Selbstentwürfen, Beziehungsgestaltungen und Körperpraktiken, zusammen mit Vera King (Sigmund-Freud-Institut und Goethe-Universität Frankfurt a.M.) und Hartmut Rosa (Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena und Max-Weber-Kolleg)

1992 – 1999
Zum psychoanalytischen Verständnis der Suizidalität bei Frauen unter Berücksichtigung der Konstituierung weiblicher Identitätsentwicklung: Kasuistische Ergebnisse anhand von 20 psycho-analytisch-orientierten Kurztherapieverläufen, Universität Hamburg, Fachbereich Medizin

1993 – 1996
Suizidalität bei Frauen. Mythos und Realität – Eine kritische Analyse, Universität Hamburg, Fachbereich Psychologie

1990 – 2009
Qualitativ-quantitativ wissenschaftliche Untersuchungen des (psychodynamischen) Verständnisses und der analytisch orientierten Kurz-Therapie suizidalen Erlebens und Verhaltens: Entwicklung und Evaluation von Behandlungskonzepten für die Psychotherapie suizidalen Verhaltens, von Inter- und Supervisionsprozessen sowie von Instrumenten zur Diagnostik der Suizidalität einschließlich der Dokumentation ambulanter psychoanalytischer Psychotherapien, zusammen mit der Forschergruppe im Therapie-Zentrum für Suizidgefährdete am Universitätsklinikum Hamburg-Eppendorf.