Linked through Orthodoxy and Internationalism

In memoriam: A portrait of the Viennese Psychoanalyst Harold Leupold-Löwenthal

Harald Leupold-Löwenthal was a founder of the Sigmund Freud Society. In his time, he was the longest practicing analyst in Vienna, and was involved in establishing the practice of psychoanalysis in Ukraine.

In Vienna he was considered the dean of his guild and dedicated his life to the spread and preservation of psychoanalysis: Harald Leupold-Löwenthal strived for the ideal of thinking outside the box by cultivating contacts worldwide. Today IPU remembers him and reflects together with his widow Ida di Pietro Leupold-Löwenthal on his important contributions to society and the psychoanalytical community. She will further his work in the same spirit by supporting IPU students through the Germany Scholarship (Deutschlandstipendium) beginning with the 2019/2020 Winter Semester.

"He was a raconteur,” says Ida di Pietro Leupold-Löwenthal of her husband, who passed away in 2007. This is how virtuoso storytellers are being characterized. “Regardless of where he went, he had the right words for everyone, always the most fitting anecdote—whether he was just telling a fairytale to a child or was describing his encounter with Anna Freud to an older woman.” And he was respected in Vienna’s public sphere. Sometimes one could hear mentions of him, that experiencing an analysis with Leupold-Löwenthal was something almost admirable. He led the Vienna Psychoanalytical Society from 1974 to 1981. The Vienna City Councilor for Culture and the Austrian Chancellor commemorated him after his passing.

Leupold-Löwenthal saught to continue Sigmund Freud’s Legacy

To review his accomplishments, it is best to begin with Sigmund Freud. The “founding father” of psychoanalysis was a central figure for Leupold-Löwenthal. Already in 1969, as a board member of the Vienna Psychoanalytic Society, he participated in the founding of the Sigmund Freud Society, for which he served as president starting in 1976. Then in 1971 he began work on the establishment of the Sigmund Freud Museum in Vienna. His connection to Freud was expressed also in his self-image: “He had the desire to continue Freud’s legacy,” says his wife Ida di Pietro Leupold-Löwenthal, “therefore he considered it important to schedule four or five analysis sessions per week. One can definitely say that he saw himself as an orthodox analyst.”

As a lecturer at the University of Vienna, and above all in the Sigmund Freud Society, Leupold-Löwenthal very practically furthered the work of Freud. Many meetings and events were based on Freudian analysis, at which he offered students a similar proposition to that which Freud himself had made: to establish a place in order to discuss psychoanalysis—content that was underrepresented at the university.

The Development and Redevelopment of Psychoanalysis After the War

Also, in 1971, when he organized the first post-war psychoanalytical conference in Vienna, Leupold-Löwenthal became visible to the general public. From this he was able to win over Anna Freud, who had to flee to London with her father before the war. She was rather unhappy to return to the land where she and her family were persecuted as Jews. Leupold-Löwenthal’s wife explains her husband’s endeavor to look back on the past through his individual experiences: “He was born in 1926 and lived through the Nazi Occupation, where he witnessed many injustices.” That is why he wanted to reconstruct what was destroyed by this criminal regime.

In the 1970s and 1980s, the Viennese psychoanalysts traveled to Hungary, Poland, and former Czechoslovakia in order to support the development of psychoanalysis there. A focus country was Ukraine in 1995, where he organized conferences in Odessa, Kiev, and Lemberg. His significance for the Ukrainian psychoanalytic community is apparent to this day. In September 2019, there was a conference organized in his honor: 25 Years of Harald Leupold-Löwenthal. “Today’s analysts in Ukraine find analysis helpful in one’s own search for identity,” emphasizes Ida di Pietro Leupold-Löwenthal, “as such there are direct connections between the political and individual situations in the country.”

Internationally linked and mindful of Promoting the Next Generation

Spending time internationally was also an important binding element in the Leupold-Löwenthal marriage. Ida di Pietro Leupold-Löwenthal had very often worked internationally, through which there were always new possibilities to travel the world. “My husband was curious, and always enjoyed seeing new things,” says di Pietro, looking back. This is how a trip to Cuba came about, where he took part in a conference on “Marxist psychotherapy”. On another occasion, he met a Japanese psychoanalyst.

In order to stay current with the state of intellectual psychoanalytic discourse, he was an active member in the Center for Advanced Psychoanalytic Studies (CAPS). Twice a year, he participated in a gathering of prominent analysts, and cultivated friendships and relationships with important international figures from psychoanalysis, such as Adam Limentani, Wolfgang Loch, Lore Schacht, Hanna Segal, Alain Gibeault, Andre Green, Janice De Saussure, Eglé and Moses Laufer, Annemarie and Joseph Sandler.

Harald Leupold-Löwenthal used every opportunity as an analyst to introduce psychoanalysis to young people throughout the world. The promotion of the next generation is therefore a common goal of IPU, Harald Leupold-Löwenthal, and his wife Ida di Pietro Leupold-Löwenthal. Students who engage themselves in the study of psychoanalysis at IPU may be supported through the Germany Scholarship (Deutschlandstipendium), through which they gain more financial freedom as well as possibilities for more involvement.

Orthodox und international vernetzt

Zum Andenken: Der Wiener Psychoanalytiker Harald Leupold-Löwenthal im Porträt

Harald Leupold-Löwenthal war Mitgründer der Sigmund-Freud-Gesellschaft, war seinerzeit der Dienstälteste Analytiker Wiens und war daran beteiligt, die Psychoanalyse in der Ukraine zu etablieren.

In Wien galt er als Doyen seiner Zunft und hat sein Leben der Verbreitung und dem Erhalt der Psychoanalyse gewidmet: Harald Leupold-Löwenthal strebte nach dem Ideal, über den eigenen Tellerrand zu blicken, indem er Kontakte in alle Welt pflegte. Heute bewahrt die IPU ihm ein Andenken und erinnert sich gemeinsam mit seiner Witwe Ida di Pietro Leupold-Löwenthal an sein wichtiges Schaffen für Gesellschaft und psychoanalytische Gemeinschaft. Sie führt sein Wirken in seinem Sinne fort, indem sie seit dem Wintersemester 2019/2020 IPU-Studierende über das Deutschlandstipendium fördert.

„Er war ein Raconteur“, sagt Ida di Pietro Leupold-Löwenthal über ihren 2007 verstorbenen Mann. So werden virtuose Erzähler bezeichnet. „Egal, wohin er kam, er hatte für jeden die richtigen Worte, immer die passende Anekdote. Ob er nun einem Kind ein Märchen erzählte oder einer älteren Dame von einer Begegnung mit Anna Freud berichtete.“ Und er war angesehen in der Wiener Öffentlichkeit. Ab und an konnte man Referenzen über ihn hören, eine Analyse bei Leupold-Löwenthal zu machen hatte fast schon etwas Auszeichnendes. Die Wiener Psychoanalytische Vereinigung leitete er von 1974 bis 1981. Zu seinem Tod äußerten sich der Wiener Kulturstadtrat und der österreichische Bundeskanzler.

Leupold-Löwenthal wollte Sigmund Freuds Erbe weiterführen

Will man Leupold-Löwenthals Schaffen überblicken, beginnt man am besten bei Sigmund Freud. Der 1938 aus Wien geflohene „Gründervater“ der Psychoanalyse war für Leupold-Löwenthal eine zentrale Orientierungsfigur. Schon 1969 war Leupold-Löwenthal als Vorstandsmitglied der Wiener Psychoanalytischen Vereinigung an der Gründung der Sigmund-Freud-Gesellschaft beteiligt, die er ab 1976 als Präsident leitete. Ab 1971 begann er dann mit der Einrichtung des Sigmund Freud-Museums in Wien. Sein Freud-Bezug äußerte sich auch in seinem Selbstverständnis: „Er hatte das Bedürfnis, das Erbe Freuds weiterzuführen“, erzählt seine Frau Ida di Pietro Leupold-Löwenthal, „daher hielt er es auch für wichtig, vier oder fünf Analysestunden pro Woche anzusetzen. Man kann daher schon sagen, dass er sich als orthodoxen Analytiker begriff.“

Als Dozent an der Wiener Universität, aber vor allem in der Sigmund-Freud-Gesellschaft hat Leupold-Löwenthal auch ganz praktisch die Arbeit Freuds weitergeführt. Bei vielen Treffen und Veranstaltungen ging es um die Freudianische Analyse. Damit hat er Studierenden ein ähnliches Angebot gemacht, wie es schon Freud selbst tat: Einen Ort zu schaffen, um über die Psychoanalyse zu sprechen, über Inhalte, die an der Universität unterrepräsentiert waren.

Aufbau und Wiederaufbau der Psychoanalyse nach Kriegsende

Ebenfalls im Jahr 1971 wurde Leupold-Löwenthal für eine breitere Öffentlichkeit sichtbar, als er den ersten psychoanalytischen Kongress in Wien nach Kriegsende organisierte. Dafür konnte er Anna Freud gewinnen, die gemeinsam mit ihrem Vater vor Kriegsbeginn nach London fliehen musste. Sie kehrte nur sehr ungern in das Land zurück, in dem sie und ihre Familie als Juden verfolgt wurden. Das Bestreben ihres Mannes, die Vergangenheit aufzuarbeiten, erklärt sich Leupold-Löwenthals Frau daher durch seine eigene Prägung: „Er ist 1926 geboren. Dadurch hat er die Okkupation der Nationalsozialisten erlebt und viel Unrecht mitbekommen.“ Aufgrund dieser Prägung wollte er neu aufbauen, was durch das verbrecherische Regime zugrunde gerichtet war.

In den 1970er und 1980er Jahren bereiste der Wiener Psychoanalytiker Ungarn, Polen und die ehemalige Tschechoslowakei, um dort den Aufbau der Psychoanalyse zu unterstützen. Einen Schwerpunkt bildete dabei die Ukraine, wo er seit 1995 Konferenzen in Odessa, Kiew und Lemberg organisierte. Seine Bedeutung für die ukrainische psychoanalytische Gemeinschaft zeigt sich bis heute. Im September 2019 wurde eine Tagung zu seinen Ehren organisiert: 25 Jahre Harald Leupold-Löwenthal. „Heutige Analytiker in der Ukraine finden die Analyse hilfreich für die eigene Identitätsfindung“, betont Ida di Pietro Leupold-Löwenthal, „es gibt also direkte Verbindungen zwischen der politischen und der individuellen Situation im Land.“

International vernetzt und auf Nachwuchsförderung bedacht

International unterwegs zu sein, war auch in der Ehe der Leupold-Löwenthals ein wichtiges verbindendes Element. Ida di Pietro Leupold-Löwenthal habe viel international gearbeitet, wodurch sich immer wieder neue Anlässe für gemeinsame Reisen ins Ausland geboten hätten. „Mein Mann war neugierig, er hat sich gerne Neues angeschaut“, sagt di Pietro rückblickend. So kam es bei einer Reise nach Kuba zu einer Teilnahme an einem Kongress über „marxistische Psychotherapie“. Zu einer anderen Gelegenheit traf er einen japanischen Psychoanalytiker.

Um immer auf dem aktuellen Stand des intellektuellen psychoanalytischen Diskurses zu bleiben, war er aktives Mitglied im Center for Advanced Psychoanalytic Studies (CAPS). Zweimal im Jahr nahm er an Treffen mit bedeutenden Analytikern teil und pflegte Freundschaften und Beziehungen zu wichtigen internationalen Persönlichkeiten aus der Psychoanalyse, wie Adam Limentani, Wolfgang Loch, Lore Schacht, Hanna Segal, Alain Gibeault, Andre Green, Janice De Saussure, Eglé und Moses Laufer, Annemarie und Joseph Sandler.

Harald Leupold-Löwenthal hat als Analytiker jede Gelegenheit genutzt, um junge Menschen an vielen Orten auf der Welt an die Psychoanalyse heranzuführen. Die Nachwuchsförderung ist damit gemeinsames Ziel der IPU, Harald Leupold-Löwenthals und seiner Frau Ida di Pietro Leupold-Löwenthal. Durch das Deutschlandstipendium werden Studierende unterstützt, die sich an der IPU mit der Psychoanalyse auseinandersetzen, und gewinnen mehr finanzielle Freiheit sowie Möglichkeiten des Engagements.